Access to E-Journals Currently Limited

Access to e-journals, both on and off campus, is currently very limited. The databases are not affected.

If you have a citation, determine if full text of the journal/periodical is available in a database using the A to Z tool. An A to Z link is posted on the Reference Online Center webpage, http://library.louisiana.edu/Ref/Databases/. The library catalog will give you similar information.

If full text of the journal/periodical is available in a database, go directly to that database from the Reference Online Center webpage and use the Publications tab provided at the top of many databases. In JSTOR, use the Browse tab and click on “by Title.”

If you need help while the library is open, Ask a Librarian.

Library hours: http://library.louisiana.edu/Circ/hours.shtml

Contact information: http://library.louisiana.edu/Ref/askref.shtml

EBSCO Planned Network Upgrades on May 30, 2014

On Friday, 8:00 PM – 10:00 PM, EBSCO databases and services may be intermittently unavailable while the company performs network upgrades.

Interlibrary Loan and Remote Access Issues

Due to technical problems being experienced by the OCLC System that supports many Dupré Library resources, Interlibrary Loan and WorldCat are currently unavailable. Off-campus access to electronic databases and journals may also be affected.

OCLC is working to resolve the technical difficulties.

Service Alerts for ILL and ProQuest Databases

Interlibrary Loan

LOUIS: The Louisiana Library Network will perform server maintenance on February 14 starting at 9:00 pm and lasting until about 1:00 am on February 15. During this time, Dupré Library ILL electronic services will not be available.

ProQuest

On February 15, ProQuest will make improvements to its internal systems to accommodate a growing number of users and to reduce the need for future downtime. Starting at 9:00 pm and lasting possibly until 5:00 am on February 16, ProQuest products will not be available online.

Databases: ISP Attack Error Message

There is currently an intermittent issue with off-site access to the library databases.

UL Lafayette IT suggests:

If you have a valid UL Lafayette CLID and receive an error message stating that you were blocked due to an ISP attack, please clear your browser history, wait 15 minutes, and try again. If that doesn’t work, try accessing the databases at a less busy time of the day, such as early in the morning or late at night.

Librarians and campus IT are working on the problem.

New database: AAPG Datapages

AAPG Datapages is a digital library of full-text geological publications administered by the American Association of Petroleum Geologists. This resource indexes the AAPG Bulletin’s current editions, historical issues back to 1917, and allows access to peer-reviewed articles ahead of print. Other publications in the digital library include the Journal of Petroleum Geology, the Journal of Sedimentary Research (SEPM), and releases from several regional geological societies including Lafayette , New Orleans, and Houston.

Thanks to the  Lafayette Geological Society for providing a long-term subscription to this resource through an endowment to the American Association of Petroleum Geologists Foundation.

Access to all Dupré Library databases is available from the Reference Online Center web page: http://library.louisiana.edu/Ref/Databases/ .

Database Update

Content Expanded: CINAHL Complete (formerly CINAHL Plus with Full Text)

CINAHL Complete provides indexing for 5,400 nursing and allied health journals, with full text for more than 1,300 titles. This database also provides legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, drug records, research instruments and clinical trials.

Database Trial: Datamyne

Datamyne focuses on international trade data. It indexes shipping container labels for imports and exports in the Americas. This resource is updated daily with reports from 50 countries across 5 continents. Available through October 2, 2013.

Find links to these and other databases through the Reference Online Center page: http://library.louisiana.edu/Ref/Databases/.

Off-site Database Access Restored

Campus IT has resolved the problems relating to off-site database access.

Issue: Access to Databases

Off-site database access is currently limited. Please call the Reference Desk (337-482-6030) if you encounter a problem. We can provide alternative access to some databases.

Campus IT is working on the problem.

Database Update

     JSTOR Content Expanded: Arts & Sciences VI Collection

JSTOR’s Arts & Sciences VI collection comprises scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in social sciences disciplines, with heavy concentrations in business and economics, education, and political sciences. The collection includes nearly 200 titles that cover both current and historical scholarship. Access these journals seamlessly through the JSTOR database.

     Database Trial: International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text

This database provides indexing and abstracts for several hundred international music periodicals from over 20 countries, plus full text for more than 140 of the indexed journals. It covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theater, theory, popular music forms and composition.

Find links to these and other databases through the Reference Online Center page: http://library.louisiana.edu/Ref/Databases/.

Got questions? Ask a Librarian: http://library.louisiana.edu/Ref/askref.shtml.  Chat, text, email, call, or stop by.